TL;DR
Turn your wind-down time into listening time
- Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
- Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
- Cancel anytime
Neko Health says it plans to open a second Manhattan clinic in January and a Miami location by the end of the year, with San Francisco and Washington, D.C., also in its pipeline. The company reports that its New York waitlist has exceeded 50,000, but has not disclosed U.S. repeat-booking figures or detailed timelines for all planned sites.
Neko Health says it plans to add clinics in Manhattan and Miami, while preparing further sites in San Francisco and Washington, D.C. The expansion follows the opening of the company’s first U.S. clinic in SoHo and a reported New York waitlist of more than 50,000 people, though several planned locations do not yet have public opening dates.
A second Manhattan clinic is scheduled to open at Brookfield Place in January, and a Miami location is expected by the end of the year, according to the report. Neko says San Francisco and Washington, D.C., are also in its pipeline. The report does not specify a year for the January opening, so the exact calendar timing is not clear from the supplied information.
Neko’s first U.S. site opened in SoHo last month. Before it opened, the company said more than 25,000 New Yorkers had joined its waitlist; the list then grew to more than 50,000 in two weeks, according to the company. The waitlist is a measure of interest, not a count of completed scans or confirmed customers.
The company charges $499 per scan. Its noninvasive assessment combines blood pressure and body-composition checks, an EKG and other cardiac measurements, grip strength and eye-pressure tests, skin imaging and a blood panel measuring 53 biomarkers. Neko says a visit includes a clinician’s review and takes about an hour. Its latest expansion follows a $700 million Series C, led by Lightspeed Venture Partners and co-led by O.G. Venture Partners, as described in the report.
Where Neko’s Clinics Are Headed
The planned sites would take Neko’s clinic model beyond its initial New York location and make it available to consumers in several major U.S. markets. The reported waitlist suggests substantial interest in a paid, in-person health assessment, but does not establish how many people will book appointments or whether demand will hold as the company opens more sites.
The service sits between wellness offerings and conventional medical care: customers pay out of pocket for a bundled scan, tests and clinician discussion. Neko says it can refer members who need follow-up to partner providers in New York, including Columbia University Irving Medical Center, Mount Sinai Health System and Schweiger Dermatology, or to their own doctors. The company also accepts HSA and FSA payments, according to the report. The clinic is not presented as a replacement for regular medical care.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
What the $499 Scan Covers
Neko Health was co-founded by Spotify co-founder Daniel Ek and chief executive Hjalmar Nilsonne. Before its U.S. arrival, the company operated in Sweden and the United Kingdom. It says more than 100,000 people have been scanned in those markets, where 75% of members book and prepay for another scan before leaving and 80% book a third after their second. Those figures are company-reported and are not U.S. rebooking data; Neko has not yet shared comparable figures for its American clinic.
The scan focuses on cardiometabolic health and skin cancer. Neko says visible-light cameras, infrared thermal imaging and depth sensing map the skin and flag moles for closer review. The company has also stated that its service is not an MRI or CT scan and does not image internal organs. It does not screen for breast, colon, lung, prostate or most other cancers, and it cannot diagnose or rule out coronary artery disease.
The source report places the launch amid consumer interest in wellness and concerns about affordability and access to U.S. health care. Those trends offer context for the company’s market, but they do not show that dissatisfaction with conventional care caused Neko’s waitlist growth. Other paid testing and longevity services are also entering the market, including offerings from fitness operators and wearable-device companies.
““What we’ve seen is unmistakable: when people can see their health clearly and know what to do about it, they get healthier.””
— Hjalmar Nilsonne, Neko Health co-founder and CEO
Opening Dates and U.S. Demand
Neko has not provided specific opening dates for San Francisco or Washington, D.C., and the supplied report does not establish the year for the January Brookfield Place opening. It is also unclear how many people on the reported waitlist will convert into appointments, how quickly the company can open the planned clinics, or whether the $499 price will remain the same across locations.
The company has not disclosed U.S. repeat-booking rates or independent results showing whether its screening leads to better health outcomes. The scan’s limits also matter: it does not image internal organs or screen for most cancers, and flagged findings may require evaluation through a person’s regular clinician or another provider.
The Next Clinic Openings
The next listed milestone is the planned Brookfield Place clinic in January, followed by the Miami site expected by year-end. The report does not provide further construction, staffing or booking details. Future announcements from Neko will be needed to clarify those timelines and the status of the San Francisco and Washington, D.C., locations.
As the U.S. rollout proceeds, indicators to watch include when each clinic begins taking appointments, how many scans are completed, and whether Neko publishes American repeat-booking or outcome data. For now, the company’s stated plans and waitlist figure describe expansion intentions and reported interest—not proof of sustained demand or clinical benefit.
Key Questions
Which cities is Neko Health targeting for expansion?
Neko says it plans a second Manhattan clinic at Brookfield Place and a Miami location. San Francisco and Washington, D.C., are also in its pipeline.
How much does a Neko Health scan cost?
The report lists the scan at $499. It says Neko accepts HSA and FSA payments, though eligibility for using those funds can depend on the account and applicable rules.
What does the scan assess?
Neko describes a roughly hour-long visit that combines skin imaging, a 53-biomarker blood panel and other measurements, including blood pressure, body composition and cardiac checks, followed by a clinician review.
Does Neko’s scan detect all cancers or examine internal organs?
No. Neko says its service is not an MRI or CT scan and does not image internal organs. It does not screen for breast, colon, lung, prostate or most other cancers.
Has Neko disclosed how many U.S. customers return for another scan?
No U.S. rebooking rate is provided in the report. The company has reported repeat-booking figures for Sweden and the U.K., but those figures should not be treated as results from its American clinic.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
